Home Entertainment 10th AMVCA: ‘Breath of Life’ beats others, wins major categories

10th AMVCA: ‘Breath of Life’ beats others, wins major categories

by Roving

Nigerian film, “Breath of Life”, has won major categories in the 10th edition of the Africa Magic Viewers Choice Awards (AMVCA).

The film, produced in 2023 by BB Sasore and Derin Adeyokunnu secured wins for Best Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Sound Design, Best Director, and the most coveted award of the night – Best Movie.

The AMVCA is an annual award presented by MultiChoice, recognising outstanding achievements in television and film.

The event started on Thursday with a night of icons and a vibrant Cultural Day celebration on Friday.

On Saturday, the 10th anniversary of the award continued at Eko Hotel and Suites, Lagos, hosted by television personality, Ikponmwosa Osakioduwa.

Veteran Actress,  Idowu Philips, known as Iya Rainbow”, was honoured with the ‘Industry Merit Award’.

Richard Mofe-Damijo, a veteran Nollywood actor, was also announced as joint winner of the Industry Merit Award of the 10th edition of the AMVCA.

Reesponding, Philips said,  “I thank God that I am still alive. 1942 till now, I thank God. I dedicate the award to my creator, my late husband, Augustine Ayanfemi, my childen, my fans and my friends. Thank you all.”

Mofe-Damijo said: “AMVCA thank you. This is completely unexpected. Every actor, producer, writer and all need someone who can trust in them, I have been blessed by being supported by young people. I thank you.”

Femi Adebayo’s Jagun Jagun clinched the ‘Best Indigenous Language West Africa’.

Receiving the award, Adebayo said:  “Thank you AMVCA and all the cast and crew of  Jagun Jagun. We are unstoppable, we are going harder.”

Below is a list of winners at the 10th AMVCA:

Best Writing Award: Volume

Best writing movie: Fumilayo Ransome Kuti – Tunde Babalola

Best Sound Design: Grey Jones Ossai x2 (Breathe of Life and Blood Vessel)

Best Editing: Antonio Ribeiro

Best Indigenous West Africa. Femi Adebayo Jagun Jagun

Best Digital Content: Layi Wasabi

Best Short Film: Broken Mask

Best Unscripted M-Net Original: Nwuyee Bekee (Foreign Wives)

Best Scripted: Slum King

Best Makeup: Mami Wata (Campbell Precious Arebamen)
Best Art Direction: Over the bridge

Best Costume Design: Jagun Jagun (Lola Awe)

Best Supporting Actress: Genoveva Umeh (Breath of Life

Best Supporting Actor: Ademola Adedoyin (Breath of Life)

Best Cinematography: Over the bridge

Best Indigenous MNet Original: Irora Iya

Trailblazer Award: Chimezie Imo

Industry Merit Awards: Iya Rainbow aka Idowu Philips and Richard Mofe Damijo

Best Lead Actress: Kehinde Bankole (Adire)

Best Lead Actor: Wale Ojo (Breath of Life)

Best MultiChoice Talent Factory Movie: Our Dark Past

Best Series (Unscripted): Gh Queens (s2)

Best Series Scripted: Itura

Best Director: BB Sasore (Breath of Life)

Best Movie: Breath of Life

Speaking at the event, Dr Busola Tejumola, Executive Head of Content and Channels, West Africa, MultiChoice, said that the AMVCA was created to honour exceptional achievements in television and film across the continent.

”We are excited to have been able to keep that fire burning through 10 editions.

“Year after year, we have received numerous entries and can attest to the growth in the quality of submissions with each edition.

“While this year’s edition is a milestone edition as it is the 10th, it is also a testament to the growth the film industry in Africa has experienced.

“We congratulate all the winners and nominees who have put in the incredible work. We’ll also like to say a big thank you to everyone in the African film industry. You have all made us proud,” she said.

This year’s edition had 27 categories, with 16 non-voting and nine audience voting categories, and the winners were selected by a jury led by ace filmmaker and head judge, Femi Odugbemi.

Some of the visible works from the awards include ‘Breath of Life’ and ‘Jagun Jagun’, winning multiple awards.

Shaffy Bello and Seyi Sodimu mesmerised the audience with their 1999 produced music, “Love Me Jeje”.

Victory Gbakara, 2023 winner of the Nigerian Idol did a performance while renowned artistes like KCee, Awilo, Chike and Adekunle Gold also thrilled the audience.

You may also like

Leave a Comment